NCPAG faculty members bag professorial chair grants, int’l publication awards

2017 is proving to be a productive year for NCPAG as several of its faculty members receive merit awards from the University in recognition of their recent research and scholarly outputs.

Six faculty members were awarded the UP Diliman Centennial Faculty Grant

For the January to December 2017 cycle, the awardees are Dr. Maria Fe Villamejor-Mendoza for the journal article “”Policy Reforms to Improve the Public Services in the Philippines”; Dr. Jocelyn C. Cuaresma for the journal article “Assessment of the Implementation of the Typhoon Yolanda Rehabilitation Program”; Dr. Minerva S. Baylon for the research on “Lessons on Policy Transfer: The Philippine Experience”; Dr. Erwin Gaspar A. Alampay for the journal article “M-money as Conduit for Conditional Cash Transfers in the Philippines”; and Dr. Kristoffer B. Berse  for the journal article “In between the Everyday and the Invisible: Climate Change Perception and Adaptation among Filipino Children”

Dr. Maria Faina Diola also received the same award for the July2016-June 2017 cycle for her research entitled “ASEAN Food Security and Land Rights: Enlarging a Democratic Space for Public Services in the ASEAN.”

Three members of the faculty, meanwhile, received UP Diliman Centennial Professorial Chair Award.

Dr. Ebinezer R. Florano was given the said award for a chapter written in the book “Asian Law in Disasters” while Dr. Michael Tumanut  and Dr. Rizalino B. Cruz got theirs for the journal articles “A Veto Players Analysis of Subnational Territorial Reform in Indonesia” and “Contracting: Political Markets,” respectively.

International Publicaiton Awards also went to Dr. Jocelyn Cuaresma for the book chapter “Philippine Higher Education Institutions’ Responses to Climate Change” and Dr. Kristoffer Berse for the journal article Climate Change from the Lens of Malolos Children: Perception, Impact and Adaptation.

Lastly, more than half of the NCPAG faculty was awarded the One UP Professorial and Faculty Grant (2016-2018). They are Dr. Alampay, Dr. Baylon, Dr. Berse, Prof.Cabo, Prof. Calugay, Dr. Cuaresma, Dr. Co, Dr. Diola, Dr. Florano, Prof. Flores, Prof. Ilago, and Dean Mendoza.

The professorial chair grants and IPA are given by the UP System as a means to incentivize and support the endeavors of the faculty in research and instruction.